SANEA proud of many accolades!


During an interview today, Brian A Statham, Chairman of the South African National Energy Association (SANEA) boasted with the achievements and activities of SANEA. “We are particularly proud of the achievements of our Board Members. 2015 has been a truly memorable year so far! We are also very fortunate that we can, year after year count on the support of our members to implement and provide a platform for proactive dialogue, the exchange of ideas and to catalyse action on critical issues relating to the South African Energy Sector!”

On 19 May 2015 during her budget speech in parliament the Minister of Energy, the Honourable Tina JoematPettersson, announced the members of the newly formed Ministerial Advisory Council on Energy. SANEA is pleased to advise that both its Chairman, Brian Statham, and its Secretary-General, Dave Wright, have been appointed to this important Council.

Another SANEA Board Member, Sicelo Xulu, walked away with the Executive of the Year award at the recent Utility Week event in Cape Town. Thulani Gcabashe, who resigned from the SANEA Board in March 2015 after 15 years of service, has been appointed Chairman of the Board of Standard Bank. He succeeds Fred Phaswana, himself a former Chairman of SANEA.

SANEA will be hosting its 2nd Action for Energy for 2015 on the 30th of July 2015. The 1st event was hosted on 20 February 2015 with the theme: Gas Industry Dialogue. At this event members and stakeholders achieved a clearer and informed understanding of the key short term (3-5 years) imperatives to create a gas economy in South Africa. A report of the proceedings is available on request.

The theme for the 30 July 2015 event is: Energy-Related Challenges faced by Small Consumers. The objective is to obtain the energy end-users’ perspective: What are the top five energy related issues facing this segment of the economy? What is the way forward with regard to each of the challenges? SANEA recently launched its energy awards project for the 8th consecutive year.

“We will continue to honour and celebrate the achievements of companies, organisations and individuals that are making an effort to ensure and contribute to a sustained and healthy Energy Sector. Some of these have been high profile household names while many others were the hard working "behind the scenes" type who quietly get on and deliver.” The deadline for nominations this year is 31 May 2015.

“The monthly lectures hosted in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban are gaining momentum. This impartial platform has become very popular with stakeholders to introduce topics or technologies with a view to share information and exchange ideas.”
“On the international front, SANEA is the country member committee of the World Energy Council (WEC). Myself and many other South Africans are actively participating and playing a vital role to incorporate the challenges and opportunities in our country in the deliberations.” Brian Statham is a Director of the WEC. He is Chairman of the WEC Studies Committee and a Member of the WEC Communications, Finance, Programme and Remuneration Committees.

comments powered by Disqus


This edition

Issue 42